Feb 11 Letter

Leaders of American Industry Call on Congress to Protect Dreamers Now

February 11, 2019


Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader McConnell, Leader Schumer, and Leader McCarthy,


The Coalition for the American Dream is an organization of business leaders representing every major sector of the U.S. economy pursuing a bipartisan, permanent legislative solution for Dreamers. Our membership includes more than 100 employers and trade associations spanning a variety of U.S. industries, from retail to manufacturing to tech, that represent more than half of American private sector workers.

We write to urge the new Congress to act immediately and pass a bipartisan, permanent legislative solution to enable Dreamers who are currently living, working, and contributing to our communities to continue doing so. With the re-opening of the federal government and the presumptive restart of immigration and border security negotiations, now is the time for Congress to pass a law to provide Dreamers the certainty they need. These are our friends, neighbors, and coworkers, and they should not have to wait for court cases to be decided to determine their fate when Congress can act now.

Studies by economists across the ideological spectrum have determined that if Congress fails to act, our economy could lose $350 billion in GDP, and the federal government could lose $90 billion in tax revenue. Thus, continued delay or inaction will cause significant negative economic and social impact to businesses and hundreds of thousands of deserving young people across the country.

We have seen time and again that the overwhelming majority of Americans of all political backgrounds agree that we should protect Dreamers from deportation. American employers and hundreds of thousands of Dreamers are counting on you to pass bipartisan, permanent legislative protection for Dreamers without further delay.


NameTitle and Company
Ginni RomettyChairman, President and CEO, IBM Corporation
Matthew ShayPresident and CEO, National Retail Federation
Thomas J. DonohuePresident and CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Mark ZuckerbergFounder and CEO, Facebook
Brad SmithPresident, Microsoft Corporation
Tim CookCEO, Apple
Arne SorensonPresident and CEO, Marriott International, Inc.
Alex GorskyChairman, Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, Johnson & Johnson
Hans VestbergChief Executive Officer, Verizon Communications
Jay TimmonsPresident and CEO, National Association of Manufacturers
Randall StephensonChairman and Chief Executive Officer, AT&T
Chip RogersPresident & CEO, American Hotel & Lodging Association
James L. DinkinsPresident, Coca-Cola North America
Hubert JolyChairman and CEO, Best Buy Co., Inc.
Chip BerghPresident and Chief Executive Officer, Levi Strauss & Co.
Brian CornellChairman and CEO, Target
Edmund O. Schweitzer, III PhDPresident, Chairman of the Board, and Chief Technology Officer, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Inc.
Drew HoustonFounder & CEO, Dropbox
Doug McMillonPresident and CEO Walmart Inc.
Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.Chief Executive Officer, Visa Inc.
Tom LinebargerChairman and Chief Executive Officer, Cummins Inc.
Chris NassettaCEO, Hilton
Sanjay MehrotraPresident and CEO, Micron Technology, Inc.
Antonio NeriPresident and CEO, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Elie W. MaaloufCEO, The Americas, InterContinental Hotels Group
Hikmet ErsekPresident, Chief Executive Officer and Director, The Western Union Company
Jeff BezosCEO, Amazon
Stephen A. SchwarzmanChairman, CEO and Co-Founder, Blackstone
Devin WenigPresident and CEO, eBay
David FrenchExecutive Director, National Council of Chain Restaurants
Marc BenioffCo-CEO and Chairman, Salesforce
Keith BlockCo-CEO, Salesforce
Sundar PichaiCEO, Google
Lars PeterssonPresident & CEO, IKEA North America Services, LLC
James F. RisoleoPresident & CEO, Host Hotels & Resorts
Mary BarraChairman and CEO, General Motors
Dan SchulmanPresident and CEO, PayPal
Jack DorseyCEO, Twitter and Square
Julie SweetChief Executive Officer Ð North America, Accenture
Barry DillerChairman and Senior Executive of IAC and Expedia Group
Chris CranePresident and CEO, Exelon
Shantanu NarayenChairman, President and CEO, Adobe Inc.
Art PeckPresident and CEO, Gap Inc.
Robert (Bob) H. SwanCEO, Intel
Kevin JohnsonPresident & Chief Executive Officer, Starbucks Coffee Company
Sandy KennedyPresident, Retail Industry Leaders Association
Ajay BangaPresident and Chief Executive Officer, Mastercard
Neil BlumenthalCo-Founder & Co-CEO, Warby Parker
Dave GilboaCo-Founder & Co-CEO, Warby Parker
Dion WeislerPresident & Chief Executive Officer, HP Inc.
Bastian LehmannCEO & Co-Founder, Postmates
Gerald ChertavianFounder and CEO, Year Up
Dara KhosrowshahiCEO, Uber Technologies, Inc.
Chuck RobbinsCEO, Cisco Systems
Sheryl SandbergCOO, Facebook
Brian CheskyCo-Founder, CEO and Head of Community, Airbnb
Ric EliasCEO, Red Ventures
Stephane KasrielCEO, Upwork
Don GrahamChairman, Graham Holdings
Aaron LevieCEO, Co-Founder & Chairman, Box
Ron ConwayFounder, SV Angel
Stewart ButterfieldCEO, Slack
Stacy Brown-PhilpotChief Executive Officer, TaskRabbit
Max LevchinFounder & CEO, Affirm, Inc
Jon OringerFounder & CEO, Shutterstock, Inc.
Franois Locoh-DonouPresident and CEO, F5 Networks
Erika LucasFounder and CEO, StitchCrew
Jeremy LevinePartner, Bessemer Venture Partners
Jake SchwartzCEO & Co-founder, General Assembly
Linda MoorePresident & CEO, TechNet
Pedro PizarroPresident & CEO, Edison International
David Colby ReedCEO, Foossa LLC
Logan GreenCo-Founder, Lyft
John ZimmerCo-Founder, Lyft
Brynne KennedyFounder and Chairwoman, Topia
Wendy KallergisPresident & CEO, Greater Miami & the Beaches Hotel Association
Todd SchultePresident, FWD.us
Daniel James ScottCEO, Tampa Bay Tech
Mamoon HamidVenture Capitalist
Brook ByersVenture Capitalist
John DoerrVenture Capitalist
Justin KnightChief Executive Officer, Apple Hospitality REIT
John DonahoeCEO, ServiceNow
Steven KolbCEO and President, Council of Fashion Designers of America
Julio FuentesPresident & CEO, Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
David MandelbrotCEO, Indiegogo
Marco ZappacostaCEO, Thumbtack
Todd McKinnonCEO and Co-Founder, Okta
Jerry TaylorPresident, Niskanen Center
Zander LurieCEO, SurveyMonkey Inc.
Peter McPhersonPresident, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities
Brook KohnCo-Founder and CEO, DACA Time
Tony XuCo-Founder and CEO, DoorDash, Inc.
Dan YagerPresident & CEO, HR Policy Association
Penny PritzkerChairman, PSP Partners
George ThomasPresident and CEO, Psi
Eric GertlerExecutive Chairman, U.S. News & World Report
Jim CoulterCo-CEO, TPG
Jon WinkelriedCo-CEO, TPG
Ali NooraniNational Immigration Forum
Amol SarvaCo-Founder and CEO, Knotel
Maxine ClarkFounder & Retired CEO, Build-A-Bear
Thomas ReevesPresident, St-Louis Market, Busey Bank
Chris RomerIOM, President & CEO Vail Valley Partnership
Dennis NixonPresident & CEO, IBC Bank
Lester CrownChairman, Henry Crown and Company
Martin SlarkBoard of Directors, Koch Industries, and Molex Retired CEO
John RoweExelon Chairman Emeritus and ABIC Co-Chair
Mike FernandezChairman of the Board, MBF Healthcare Partners
Bill KunklerExecutive Vice President, CC Industries
Carole SegalCo-Founder, Crate and Barrel
David MacNeilFounder/CEO, WeatherTech
Beth A. Bowman, IOM, CCEPresident & CEO, Greater Irving-Las Colinas Chamber & Irving Economic Development Partnership
Bill LuciaPresident and CEO, HMS
Mary Sue ColemanPresident, Association of American Universities
Morton SchapiroPresident, Northwestern University